Upper Shirley High

+44 023 8032 5333 Menu

“We love the signs all around your school which promote your values.” Visiting Colombian teachers


The Governors of Upper Shirley High are committed to working with the Headteacher and staff to provide a high quality education for all pupils.

Our role is to monitor, challenge and support the school at a strategic level. Governors meet once per month and focus on a range of areas including standards, finance, safeguarding and strategic planning.

Our governors are:

John Barfoot - Chair of Governors - Academic Leader, Southampton Solent University

James Renfrew - Vice Chair - Senior Financial Controller - Solomon Systech (UK) Ltd (parent)

Stuart Woods - Headteacher at USH

Sharon Jackopson - Finance Officer - Gas Care

Paul Tombs - Head of Public Services and Infrastructure, Zurich Municipal

Sue Marsh - Headteacher - Beechwood Junior School 

Justine Taylor-Knightbridge - Lead Apprenticeships Advisor - Southampton City Council

Sam Mawby - Clerk

Correspondence Address for Chair of Governors - Mr J Barfoot c/o Upper Shirley High, Bellemoor Road, Southampton, SO15 7QU or email using the button below.

Governor Meeting Attendance 2016-17 Local Governing Body Terms of Reference Hamwic Education Trust Scheme of Delegation Governor Terms of Office Governor Roles 2017-18 Governor Business Interests Register Governor Meeting Attendance 2017-18

“My granddaughter had already visited other schools, but said that USH was the best and she would like to come here next September.” Grandparent, Open Morning 2014