Upper Shirley High

+44 023 8032 5333 Menu

“We love the signs all around your school which promote your values.” Visiting Colombian teachers

USH School Calendar

Autumn Term 2016

Term Begins:
Tuesday 6th September 2016 (Year 7 and Year 11)
Wednesday 7th September 2016 (All other years)

Half-term: Monday 24th - Friday 28th October 2016

Term Ends:
Thursday 15th December 2016

Inset/Closures:
Monday 5th September 2016
Friday 16th December 2016

Spring Term 2017

Term Begins:
Tuesday 3rd January 2017

Half-term: Monday 20th - Friday 24th February 2017

Term Ends:
Friday 7th April 2017

Inset/Closures:
Friday 24th March 2017

Summer Term 2017

Term Begins:
Monday 24th April 2017

Half-term: Monday 29th May - Friday 2nd June 2017

Term Ends:
Friday 21st July 2017

Inset/Closures:
Monday 1st May 2017 (May Day Bank Holiday)
Monday 24th and Tuesday 25th July 2017

Autumn Term 2017

Term Begins: 
Tuesday 5th September 2017 (Year 7 and Year 11)
Wednesday 6th September 2016 (All other years)

Half-term: Monday 23rd - Friday 27th October 2017

Term Ends:
Wednesday 20th December 2017

Inset/Closures:
Monday 4th September 2017
Thursday 21st December 2017

Spring Term 2018

Term Begins: 
Monday 8th January 2018

Half-term: Monday 12th- Friday 16th February 2018

Term Ends:
Thursday 29th March 2018

Inset/Closures:
TBC

Summer Term 2018

Term Begins: 
Monday 16th April 2018

Half-term: Monday 28th May - Friday 1st June 2018

Term Ends:
Wednesday 25th July 2018

Inset/Closures:
Monday 7th May 2018 (May Day Bank Holiday)
Other dates TBC


INSET/Closure Dates 2016/2017

Monday 5th September 2016
Friday 16th December 2016
Friday 24th March 2017
Monday 24th July 2017
Tuesday 25th July 2017

INSET/Closure Date 2017/2018

Monday 4th September 2017
Thursday 21st December 2017
Monday 7th May 2018

Further dates TBC

PDFs provided by Southampton City Council

School Day

8:30 - 8:50 Tutor Time
8:50 - 9:50 Period 1
9:50 - 10:50 Period 2
10:50 - 11:05 Break
11:05 - 12:05 Period 3
12:05 - 1:05 Period 4
1:05 - 1:40 Lunch
1:40 - 2:40 Period 5

April 2017

  • 30
    SUN
    No events today

May 2017

  • 01
    MON
    Featured Event: May Day Bank Holiday (School Closed)
  • 11
    THU
    Featured Event: Paris Trip Parents Information Evening
    6pm-7pm
  • 22
    MON
    Featured Event: "Revision, Motivation and Exam Technique" - Parent Session with Lorraine Lee
    To book: https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/revision-exam-technique-ush-year-11-parents-tickets-26680017651
  • 27
    SAT
    Featured Event: Deadline for final payments for Prom tickets
  • 29
    MON
    Featured Event: Half Term (Monday 29th May-Friday 2nd June)

June 2017

  • 12
    MON
    Featured Event: "Helping Young People make positive choices, recover from setbacks and grow in confidence" - Parent Session with Lorraine Lee
    To book: https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/helping-children-make-positive-choices-recover-from-setbacks-grow-in-confidence-ush-year-11-parents-tickets-26679945435
  • 27
    TUE
    Featured Event: Year 11 Prom at the Botleigh Grange Hotel

July 2017

  • 07
    FRI
    Featured Event: PTFA Charity Auction
  • 11
    TUE
    Featured Event: PAG: USH Steps and the new report format - reflection and future developments to support parental understanding and support of progress.
  • Featured Event: Awards Evening - Central Hall, Southampton
    7.00pm
  • 21
    FRI
    Featured Event: Last Day of Term
  • 24
    MON
    Featured Event: Inset Day
  • 25
    TUE
    Featured Event: Inset Day

September 2017

  • 04
    MON
    Featured Event: Inset Day
  • 05
    TUE
    Featured Event: First Day of Term (Year 7 and Year 11)
  • 06
    WED
    Featured Event: First Day of Term for Year 8, 9 and 10 (Year 7 & 11 start on September 5th)

October 2017

  • 14
    SAT
    Featured Event: PTFA Car Boot Sale
  • 23
    MON
    Featured Event: Half Term (Monday 23rd-Friday 27th October)

December 2017

  • 20
    WED
    Featured Event: Last Day of Term
  • 21
    THU
    Featured Event: Inset Day

“…significant strengths in Film Studies and Performing and Visual Arts subjects, Physical Education, Geography and Catering…” Ofsted 2016